Tottenham learn about Europa Conference League opponents as group stage draw wraps up



Tottenham will imagine their chances of reaching the finals of the Europa Conference League after the group stage draw.

Although it could have been easier for Nuno Espirito Santo’s side with the North London side taking on familiar European names.

Spurs will face Stade Rennais, Vitesse and Serbian side Mura in the opening season of the competition.

They reached the Europa Conference League after beating Pacos de Ferreira in the play-off over two sets.

Tottenham lost the first leg 1-0 in Portugal but were boosted by the return of double-bred Harry Kane at home.

After the overall victory against Pacos de Ferreira, boss Nuno said: “I think we played a good game from the first minute.

Tottenham are the only Premier League team in the new Europa Conference League

“We didn’t give a chance, we played good moves and scored early, that made it easier. We scored again and every moment the game was under control.

“Good individual performances, good play. In the second half we created chances, I think we had too many clear chances to do better. But really happy.”

The Europa Conference Conference works in much the same way as the Europa League with eight groups of four.

The best teams automatically advance to the round of 16, while the teams ranked second will compete in the play-offs against those who finished third in their Europa League groups.

The final will take place in Tirana, Albania on May 25.

Nuno Espirito Santo's Tottenham take part in the first Europa League Conference
Nuno Espirito Santo’s Tottenham take part in the first Europa League Conference

Full draw for the Europa Conference League

Group A: LASK, Maccibi Tel-Aviv, Alashkert, HJK Helsinki,

Group B: Ghent, Partizan Belgrade, Flora Tallinn, Anorthosis Famagusta

Group C: Rome, Zorya Luhansk, CSKA Sofia, Bodo / Glimt

Group D: AZ Alkmaar, CFR Cluj, Jablonec, Randers

Group E: Slavia Prague, Feyenoord, Union Berlin, Maccabi Haifa

Group F: FC Copenhagen, PAOK, Slovan Bratislava, Lincoln Red Imps

Group G: TOTTENHAM, Stade Rennais, Vitesse, Mura

Group H: Basel, Qarabag, Kairat Almaty, Omonia

Source link


Leave A Reply