Tottenham in the Europa Conference League: Tour they enter, draw dates and potential opponents


It won’t be too long until Nuno Espirito Santo and Tottenham find their first opponents in the brand new Europa Conference League.

Seeking to finish in the top four at the end of the year, Spurs fell from Champions League places and only landed a European position on the final day after a fine 4-2 win at Leicester City .

Narrowingly missing out on the Europa League as West Ham propelled them to sixth, the Lilywhites will take part in UEFA’s third club competition from August.

Neither team qualifies directly for the group stage and will instead have to go through qualifying and a play-off round to be one of the 32 teams involved.

Video upload

Video unavailable

Spurs, along with Union Berlin, Roma and Stade Rennes, will enter the play-offs in August, with the draw taking place early next month.

So what exactly does the new competition involve and who could they potentially get? have a look.

How does the competition work?

There will be a total of 32 teams in the group stage of the competition, although no team qualifies directly for the group stage.

The 32 teams will be made up of 17 teams from the main track of the Europa League Conference, five teams from the Champions track of the Europa League Conference and ten teams eliminated from the play-offs of the Europa League.

The 32 teams will then be split into eight groups of four, with the top two from each group qualifying for the knockout phase of the competition.

However, the eight group winners will advance directly to the round of 16, with the eight finalists advancing to the preliminary round of 16 where they face the third-placed teams in the Europa League group stage.

So who will play in the Europa Conference League?

Teams participating in the play-off round: Tottenham, Union Berlin, AS Rome, Stade Rennes

Teams entering the third qualifying round: Pacos de Ferreira, Rubin Kazan, Anderlecht, Kolos Kovalivka, Vitesse, Trabzonspor, LASK, Lucerne, PAOK

Second qualifying round draw

Champions path

Teuta (ALB) against Inter Club d’Escaldes (AND), Riga FC (LVA) against Shkëndija (MKD), Dinamo Tbilisi (GEO) against Maccabi Haifa (ISR), Budućnost Podgorica (MNE) against HB Tórshavn (FRO), Linfield (NIR) against Borac Banja Luka (BIH), Shakhtyor Soligorsk (BLR) against Fola Esch (LUX), Folgore (SMR) against Hibernians (MLT), Prishtina (KOS) against Connah’s Quay Nomads (WAL), Valur (ISL) against Bodø / Glimt (NOR)

Goodbye: Shamrock Rovers (IRL)

Nuno Espirito Santo now works with his Tottenham team on the training ground at Hotspur Way
Nuno Espirito Santo has gone far in the 2019/20 Europa League as Wolves boss

Main path

KuPS Kuopio (FIN) against Vorskla Poltava (UKR), FCSB (ROU) against Shakhter Karagandy (KAZ), Arda Kardzhali (BUL) against Hapoel Beer-Sheva (ISR), Apollon Limassol (CYP) against Žilina (SVK), Čukarički ( SRB) against Sumgait (AZE), Sutjeska (MNE) against Maccabi Tel-Aviv (ISR), Astana (KAZ) against Aris Thessaloniki (GRE), Petrocub-Hincesti (MDA) against Sivasspor (TUR), AEL Limassol (CYP) against Vllaznia (ALB), Sochi (RUS) v Keşla (AZE), Elfsborg (SWE) v Milsami Orhei (MDA), RFS (LVA) v Puskás Akadémia (HUN), Dinamo Batumi (GEO) v BATE Borisov (BLR), Partizan (SRB) against Dunajská Streda (SVK), Dundalk (IRL) against Levadia Tallinn (EST), Gżira United (MLT) against Rijeka (CRO), Viktoria Plzeň (CZE) against Dynamo Brest (BLR), Kauno Žalgiris (LTU) against The New Saints (WAL), Domžale (SVN) v Honka Espoo (FIN), CSKA-Sofia (BUL) v Liepāja (LVA), Shkupi (MKD) v Santa Clara (POR), Hibernian (SCO) v Santa Coloma (AND )

Larne (NIR) v AGF Aarhus (DEN), Gent (BEL) v Vålerenga (NOR), Dudelange (LUX) v Bohemians (IRL), Velež (BIH) v AEK Athens (GRE), Qarabağ (AZE) v Ashdod (ISR) )), Lokomotiv Plovdiv (BUL) against Slovácko (CZE), Ararat Yerevan (ARM) against Śląsk Wrocław (POL), Universitatea Craiova (ROU) against Laç (ALB), Drita (KOS) against Feyenoord (NED), Basel 1893 ( SUI) against Partizani (ALB), Pogoń Szczecin (POL) against Osijek (CRO), Austria Wien (AUT) against Breidablik (ISL), Olimpija Ljubljana (SVN) against Birkirkara (MLT), Hammarby (SWE) against Maribor (SVN) , Molde (NOR) against Servette (SUI), Újpest (HUN) against Vaduz (LIE), Sūduva (LTU) against Raków Czestochowa (POL), FC Spartak Trnava (SVK) against Sepsi OSK Sfantu Gheorghe (ROU), FH Hafnarfjördur ( ISL)) against Rosenborg (NOR), Copenhagen (DEN) against Torpedo-Belaz Zhodino (BLR), Panevezys (LTU) against Vojvodina (SRB), Hajduk Split (CRO) against Tobol Kostanay (KAZ), Aberdeen (SCO) against BK Häcken (SUE)

Who else will enter the Europa Conference Conference?

Teams that lose in the Champions League and Europa League qualifying rounds will enter the Europa Conference Conference.

Tottenham will look to go far in Europe next season after such a disappointing Europa League outing this campaign
Tottenham will look to go far in Europe this season after such a disappointing Europa League outing this campaign

In the second qualifying round, 20 losers from the Champions League qualifying round will enter the competition, with eight losers from the Europa League qualifying round then entering for the play-off round.

Ten losers from the Europa League play-offs will then be added to the group stage.

As is the case in the knockout stage of the Europa League when the eight teams ranked third in the Champions League enter, the eight teams that finished third in the Europa League group stage will enter the knockout stage. direct elimination of the Europa Conference Conference.

When will the draw be made?

3rd qualifying round draw: July 19

Play-off draw: August 2

Group stage draw: August 27

Knockout playoff draw: December 13

Round of 16 draw: February 25

Quarter-finals and semi-finals draw: March 18

When will the games be played?

The matches will take place on Thursday, as is the case for the Europa League, with the matches kick off at 5.45 p.m. or 8 p.m.

Second qualifying round: July 22 & 29

Third qualifying round: August 5 & 12

Dams: August 19 & 26

Group stage: September 16 & 30, October 21, November 4 & 25, December 9

Knockout playoffs: February 17 & 24

round of 16: March 10 and 17

Quarter-finals: April 7 & 14

Semi-finals: April 28 & May 5

Final: May 25

Where will the final be played?

The inaugural Europa League Conference 2021/22 final will take place in Tirana, Albania on Wednesday, May 25.

The match will be played at the National Arena, which has a capacity of 21,690 seats.

The winners of the competition will automatically qualify for the Europa League in 2022/23.

Want an exclusive preview of Tottenham pre-season – both in your inbox and through your mailbox? Go here to find out more and secure your copy!

Source link


Comments are closed.